Heuchera on the move

Since 1) discovering the concept of a forest garden and 2) changing my front lawn into a garden proper, I have been looking forward to this day. In only one and a half years, the heuchera near the apple tree had more than doubled in size and thus was taking up more and more of the food-growing space. The bees love it, however.

  
The original attraction had been the fact that it is evergreen (well, not green, though the leaves are turning more of that colour as autumn progresses). I had planned on the back of the garden having colour over the winter months, but then the strawberries provide plenty of green on the ground now.

Anyway, the spot allocated for it in the front garden was now ready. After putting down the first round of cardboard and manure in January, I had been disappointed to see grass still coming through. So, down went more cardboard and mulch. And what I hadn’t realised until today was that the cardboard had had a covering of plastic, which undoubtedly sorted the grass out good and proper.

  
Now that the heuchera has been moved, the back garden looks a bit empty. But that won’t last long, as on Friday the aim is to prepare a hugel bed in that position. I’m so excited!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Heuchera on the move

  1. Awesome new thank you for sharing and lovey the update thank you for sharing picked my first golden raspberry today

  2. gaiainaction says:

    All going great Helen!

  3. How exciting to see all your hard work paying off, Helen. I can’t wait to see your hugel beds come together.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

