A new path

Work in the garden took a maximum of half an hour this morning. And was effortless after the digging I did yesterday.

Originally, there was a path on the right hand side of the garden which was… useless. It was part pebble, part flagstone and it was hard work getting the wheelie bins over it to put them out for collection. So, under no circumstances could I find a justification for keeping it.

When the flagstones and pebbles (as far as possible) came up, I had intended to start digging up the soil underneath and cultivate something in that region. It was more compacted than compacted, however, so had remained the default way out the back gate.

Not anymore…..

  
It feels great skipping across these steps. Well, it just feels great, but I am also pleased to have put two of my currant bushes (given to me at a volunteer workday at Old Sleningford Farm) in the latest hugel bed. One of them might not survive – I certainly haven’t seen any buds on it – but who knows what will happen?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A new path

  1. Kalamain says:

    I was told at work that sometimes plants can go into ‘shock’ when moved. They may not flower or bud up very well the next year until they “settle in”.
    As long as the plant is not obviously dead or dying then I wouldn’t worry too much. It may just be running late or a little reduced.

  2. We are in the end of November and you are still able to work in your garden. It is obvious that you have the gardening bug. I am just amazed how much you have done to transform your garden in such a short time. Currants bushes sound like a great addition. I hope that you are wrong and that both of them thrive. What is a hugel bed?
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Under normal circumstances in the UK you can work in the garden all year round, so now is the time for the kind of stuff I’m doing at the moment, rather than planting tomatoes 😉

      I am saddened that so much of my garden is bare for so much of the year, but hopefully as the forest garden develops, for example, there will be more structure, if not colour, to look at all the time.

      • I did not realize that you could work in the garden year around. I know what you mean my flower beds do not bloom all summer long. I have been trying to change that over the last 5 years.

        I think it just takes time, when you do the gardening yourself. Every year we take pictures and I can see how far we have come in developing our vegetable garden and flower beds.I am impressed on how much your garden has changed in a short time. A Forrest garden sounds inspired.
        Honey
        Honey

        • Helen says:

          Well, it certainly does take time to change a garden. It’s a mixture of having not only the time and energy but changing ideas as I go along! Then of course, it is the time required for plants to establish themselves….

          As for the idea of the forest garden, I didn’t realise at first I was establishing one. It was when I came across the concept of permaculture that I had a name for it – and new information about what to do.

          Good luck with extending the length of time you have flowers in your garden. I’m sure there must be some varieties which even flower in winter where you live.

          • I think that as you work a garden it speaks to you. It inspires you. The way you describe the idea of the forest garden. It is like you instinctively knew it would work there.
            I am a lazy gardener I want a wide variety of native perennials in my flower bed. I want the flowers to bloom in shifts through out the season. I am getting there slowly.I enjoy working on it slowly to transform it.
            Honey

          • Helen says:

            Nothing wrong with being a ‘lazy’ gardener….

    • Helen says:

      Here is the link to a post I wrote about my first hugel bed, which seemed to improve the growing conditions in my garden:

      A clandestine activity | silverbells steps out
      https://silverbells2012.wordpress.com/2015/06/15/a-clandestine-activity/

  3. Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  4. It’s nice to see the enjoyment you get from your garden, Helen. You’ve poured your heart into it.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, it is very important to me. Not least, it is an area of my life where I am free 🙂 I love being outside so much and the extras like watching birds from the back of the house are such good payback!

      • Bird watching is a treat on to itself, isn’t it? We have frolicking squirrels too, that provide hours of entertainment. And when you can create something with your hands that attracts birds, bees and even admiring passersby, that is really something.

        • Helen says:

          I think I have a way to go before passers-by admire my handiwork but at least I enjoy it 🙂

          It must be great to watch your squirrels!

          • The squirrels are so entertaining. They can be little troublemakers in the garden, but I don’t mind. I love all animals and feel we’ve already encroached so much on their turf. Your garden is coming along beautifully. Most importantly, you enjoy it.

          • Helen says:

            Thank you!

            Yes, we do so encroach on animals’ space 😦

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

