The onset of winter 2015

This morning there was frost on car windscreens and the water which collects on the top of one on my compost bins had frozen over.

  
I did have plans for work in the garden today but after a caffeine-induced lack of sleep last night, the chill is plenty to keep me inside!

My daughter carved our Halloween pumpkin yesterday… Yes, you read that right. It was finally ripened and now I have made a few jars of pumpkin preserve with it. These will go to a colleague who fell in love with the stuff last year.

One job I have done outside though is pick a whole bunch of cayenne peppers. Now it’s got cold, I don’t want to lose them to frost. At the same time, there are still a few babies on the plant, which is doing its best to flower as well, so out of curiosity I’m going to see what happens.

  
Anyway, the tomato seedling that started to grow spontaneously has now been potted on, so I can look forward to some tomatoes next year, at least!

  

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The onset of winter 2015

  1. Lovely update Helen things are getting colder here to have a blessed day

  2. We had a touch of frost on the windscreen yesterday and a thicker coating this morning – winter has started, even if the official line is that it starts in a month’s time. ;-(

  3. yes, we’ve had our first ice too – winter on its way

  4. gaiainaction says:

    No frost here yet Helen, but the temperature is way down now, even while saying that it gets quite pleasant during the day, well that is part of the day, this morning I was shopping with my coat open, this afternoon it got dark so early and started to get misty and rain! That’s Ireland 🙂

  5. Those peppers look so good! I’m planting mine this weekend 😃

  6. drofmit4108 says:

    That Pumpkin Preserve is good… isn’t it!
    We desperately try not to pig out on it…
    so have a couple of jars left of last year’s HUGE batch…
    which will now be down to one…
    I have just given myself “the cravings”…
    still, no problem with another batch…
    the Crown Princes did very well this year…
    and are all the way up the stairwell… again!!

    But, Pauline made some Lime Curd yesterday…
    she’s blogged her recipe somewhere on “De la Bonne Bouffe!”…
    so the not quite full jar of that will need to be tackled.

    And we always freeze some of our chillies…
    for those recipes that call for a “fresh” chilli!

    • Helen says:

      I think I will need to freeze some of my chillies. I’m ripening some on a windowsill (and they are doing very well) but I’m not going to get through them all fresh (without freezing, alternatively making something like harissa).

      Anyway, my colleague was ecstatic with the three jars of pumpkin preserve, so please thank Pauline on all our behalfs for the recipe.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

