Marco Polo and other matters

Actually, this post has nothing to do with Marco Polo but has a lot to do with a supposedly good storer by the name of Marco.

  
It took me quite a long time to locate the rest of the garlic I was going to plant once I had found the site for it in the back garden. Not so long that it would have gone mouldy, but it was in any case mouldy.

Instead of 12 cloves I planted a mere 5 – and I didn’t even need the patch I had cleared specifically for the purpose on Monday.

  
The above photo is before the patch was cleared, incidentally. Goodness only knows what the rocket had been doing to itself, as its sister plant by the nasturtiums is in no such sorry state.

  
Maybe it’s the hard pruning the healthy plant got a few months ago or the companion effect of the nasturtiums. Whatever the reason, I am more than pleased that my self-seeders can feed me where bought stuff fails 😉

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marco Polo and other matters

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

