November bumblebee

I have been wondering whether to cut down the phacelia in the front garden, especially since it was somewhat affected by the frost on Monday. 

However, I’m glad that I didn’t because I was amazed by the following sight when I went outside a little while ago:

  
I can still do other work. Namely, grass from the original lawn continues to grow, so the plan is to lay down more cardboard (been hoarding it since I discovered its uses in the garden) and cover it with compost. I would like to avoid attracting neighbours’ pets, so after the effect manure had on them earlier this year, I think homemade compost is the preferable option.

Besides, this creates a closed loop and fits in nicely with the idea of producing no waste. In this case, no plastic packaging or petrol miles, as well as saving me money!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to November bumblebee

  1. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed weekend

  2. Great photo, and always good to think you’re helping a bumblebee. 😉

  3. I’m always delighted to see bees in the garden. I’m so glad one found it’s way to your lovely plant.
    I remembering hoarding cardboard last year when I sheet mulched half the lawn. The combination of cardboard and fall leaves worked beautifully. We recently had a landscape company replace the rest of the lawn with native plants. It’s such a relief to be done with all the lawn/grass, once and for all.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, your garden looks great minus the lawn, Alys!

      I was surprised that the bumblebee wasn’t in hibernation but then I am woefully ignorant of their habits – only just found out that they hibernate at all. Anyway, I hope the pollen they are collecting now will see them through the winter.

      • Helen, shortly after reading your post I read another article cautioning gardners not to clean too deeply in the fall for fear of disturbing bee “larvae”. I didn’t know that either. I always think of them living in colonies and hives. There is always something new to learn.I have seen other gardeners build little insect condos for insects to over-winter. They’re a serious of hollowed stems, tubes, cardboard rolls, etc. gathered together to look like a little house. Have you seen what I’m talking about?

        • Helen says:

          Yes, bee hotels is a name we use here 🙂

          Anyway, I’ve been doing my best not to clear up fallen leaves and such like. The wind does blow them away in the back garden, though, and I feel a sense of pressure from my neighbours to be ‘tidy’ in the front. (I haven’t tidied up the front but I don’t like the pressure.)

          • Yes, that’s it, bee hotels. We have a small one designed for Mason bees. The painter had to remove it from the side of the house, which reminds me that we need to put it back.

            It’s hard not to feel some of that neighborhood pressure, isn’t it? When people were first changing out lawns here, the city offered signs for the front garden that said “going native” . Other’s said “brown is the new green”. I guess people wanted their neighbors to know that they weren’t just lazy, but actively making a change for the better. I think as hard as we try, it’s not easy to disregard what other’s think. I’m sorry you’re feeling that pressure, but I do understand

          • Helen says:

            Thank you! I can understand that people are concerned by the look of my garden out the front but our village won its section of the annual Britain in Bloom section, so I think that’s good enough for me 🙂

            Besides, I put a lot more work into my garden than when there was a lawn (which my neighbour mowed for me)….

          • That is awesome, Helen!

          • Helen says:

            By the way, that should read Britain on Bloom ‘competition’ not ‘section’.

          • Helen says:

            By the way, great that you have a bee hotel 🙂

          • Thank you, Helen. The longer I garden, the more aware I become of every little visitor and how important they are to the garden’s well being and vice versa.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, it’s is so interesting learning about all aspects of a garden 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

