Gratitude

I already knew yesterday I was going to 

 

a bag you can buy to take your swaps home in


 
where you can swap unwanted clothes for those donated by another person.

What I didn’t know was that there were surprises elsewhere in store for us.

One of these was waiting under one of our seats at the cinema (on Saturday and Sunday mornings here they do cut-price showings of older children’s films). My daughter had won a DVD and colouring book.

The second was getting a notification of a workshop at the university art gallery. I was certain I hadn’t signed us up for it but we popped in anyway. Great that we did as we had fun making potato prints…. And then one of the other participants offered us a model of one of the Three Kings she had been painting.

A nice day to beat the blues and counter the weather. Maybe I’ll do battle with it in the garden today, now that I’ve been fortified by some goodwill!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment, Make do and mend, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gratitude

  1. I LOVE clothes swaps; not only does the wardrobe get a bit of a revamp, you also get to surreptitiously watch people discovering and claiming your contributions. All good, clean, community-building fun 🙂

    • Helen says:

      It’s a great way of bumping into people you know but not well – Leeds has a population of about half a million, so there are communities within communities.

      I also agree it is great to see others claiming the stuff you’ve taken in. We were too late this time for my clothes to go out but maybe at the one in January?

  2. Awesome Helen thank you for sharing I got some bargains at the Christmas fate yesterday on stayed for a few mints as had to get back to the dogs

  3. mybrightlife says:

    Cloths swops! A great idea!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

