Fruit, roots and trees

Normally, I would not rejoice in ferocious winds or fallen branches but yesterday I was relieved to see this in my garden

  
The object in question is a branch which had been lodged in next door’s tree after it had been cut off by less than conscientious tree surgeons in the summer of 2014.

It had been quite amusing, watching birds eyeing it up when they were looking for a place to make a nest this spring. On the other hand, I had been apprehensive about the branch falling onto the greenhouse.

Of course, the greenhouse didn’t need objects falling on it to lose its cover or for its poles to break. The branch could so easily have fallen on someone’s head, though. Instead, it was simply there when I looked out the window and now it has been added to the pile of wood which I am using to make hugel beds.

Other good news is that I have another pile of chillies, which had ripened and started to dry on the plant (indoors). They are such a festive colour, don’t you think?

  
I am exceedingly pleased with the number of chillies I have grown this year. Equally, I was very pleased with the number of Jerusalem artichoke tubers I took out of the growbag I had been using for one batch. I would say that the amount was at least double what I got last year, so the Β£8 I paid in March 2014 for the original set of tubers is turning out to be a good investment.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fruit, roots and trees

  1. lovely post Helen thank you for sharing here is a link you might like https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSk3OQdhO7g&feature=share

  2. gaiainaction says:

    How lovely you have such a great chilli harvest, do you use them in cooking a lot? You have also reminded me to take my Jerusalem tubers out of the ground as they should be ready. Great to read what is going on with you and your garden Helen.

  3. I’m glad the branch is down and that no one was hurt in the process.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

