Perennials – wanted and unwanted

A few days ago, I thought about keeping the remaining outdoor chilli plant to see what happened. Well, between the wind and the rain and the cooler nighttime temperatures, it was starting to shrivel. So now I know!

The good news is that the compost it had been growing in could now be put a new purpose: fertilising the rhubarb. 

  
I’m not sure you’re supposed to completely smoother the rhubarb crown but that’s how the compost ended up. Not before I had had a tussle getting the nettle roots out. 

I’d firmly recommend keeping nettles that are growing anywhere near plants that attract aphids, if my experience is anything to go by. Besides, even if I’ve got it all wrong, nettles are a delicacy I have discovered this year and will no doubt have the chance to indulge in next.

On the other hand, I’m finding it hard to praise the crocosmia. I can’t eat them and I don’t even like the orange colour too much.

  
The featured bush was never intended. Looking back at photos of the original garden, there was a bush in this spot, so no doubt I didn’t manage to dig out all the corms. I wonder if there will be more success this time round?!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Perennials – wanted and unwanted

  1. Linda Penney says:

    Many thanks for sharing Helen garden looking good have a blessed weekend

  2. Kalamain says:

    I find the best way to get Crocosmia out is to totally soak the area and then carefully fork up the whole area or soil and gently pull them up from the strong green leaves. Either that or nuke it from orbit! B-)

    And the chilli may have survived. If you chop it back a little and brought it in then it may have overwintered.

    Good post! B-)

    • Helen says:

      Thanks, Kalamain!

      I’ll try soaking the area – or rather wait till the next onslaught of rain at the weekend 😉

      Yes, I guess the chilli would have survived but I didn’t have room for it indoors, unfortunately. It was a splendid plant.

      • Kalamain says:

        At work we just doused the area with a bucket of water, stuck a fork in the ground and pulled the leaf and levered the fork at the same time. That way you should also get any pups that are attached to the mother bulb at the same time.

        Its not exactly a science but should make the job a bit easier! B-)

  3. streepie says:

    We have good experiences turning chillies into perennials – we bring them in over winter and cut them back a little bit. Works really well!

    • Helen says:

      I had wondered if they could be perennial. I have others indoors, so I’ll keep those going, if I can!

      Great that you do that with yours 🙂

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Great work Helen. Reminding me that when I looked last my rhubarb had totally disappeared! We are having a huge big storm again here with heavy rain! 🙂

  5. Your compost looks fantastic!! What happy rhubarb you’ll have.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

