The bird’s nest

It seems a long time since we have been up to Old Sleningford Farm for a workday, although it is only a month since the last one. So being outdoor with nature all around was particularly pleasurable.

Today’s main activity was thinning out the gooseberry bushes, which in spite of being a bit of a prickly venture was fun. My daughter had the loppers and each time she cut a branch she shouted ‘Timber!’.

Perhaps the most exciting part of the day, however, was finding not one, not two, but three birds’ nests amongst the bushes. One of them was so delightful, and intact, filled with carpet fluff from the floor of the forest garden (used to prevent weeds).

  
I’d never seen a bird’s nest up close before, so was enthralled. I had somehow expected it to be empty, not filled with soft bedding. I hope the chicks appreciated what their parents had done for them!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture, Social, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The bird’s nest

  1. Linda Penney says:

    Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Look at all that colorful fluff! Bird’s nests are a special kind of treasure. I haven’t found one in awhile, but it’s magical when I do.

    I learned in a bird watching class a few years ago that hummingbirds use spider web silk to start their nest. Then they line it and add more silk to hold it all together. Incredible. They’re nests are small: the size of a golf ball. They lay two eggs each time, and those are the size of Tic-Tac mints.

    I bet your daughter was in heaven.

    • Helen says:

      The hummingbird nests sound amazing indeed!

      The nest featured in my post has now gone to school for my daughter’s class to see. They didn’t get chance yesterday but hopefully today 🙂

      • I’ll bet her classmates had fun passing that around.

        I just spotted a wee nest in our Chinese Pistache, now that the tree has dropped all the leaves. I’m not stable on my feet yet, so will ask someone to take a photo. It’s amazing to me how busy the birds are building the nest, yet largely go unnoticed.

        • Helen says:

          Seeing ‘our’ nest got me thinking: we are not the only creatures who throw things away. It’s sad that nests aren’t re-used, although of course under most circumstances they are bio-degradable (the one we found has synthetic fibres in it) and there might be hygiene issues. It gave me a different understanding of human nature, anyway….

          I hope you will be able to get a photo of the Chinese Pistache nest – and that you are able to stand more easily soon.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

