The garden path revisited

A couple of years ago, I started the long process of sorting out the area of the back garden where there was a path. The path consisted of rotten membrane covered with paving stones, interspersed with pebbles.

Now, the stones have been dispersed around the garden and most of the pebbles have been picked out of the compacted soil and gone to a happier home (I hope). As for the membrane, the only place it could go was in the bin.

I had long had the idea of digging up the ground which had been under all that. But I got sidetracked by the allotment I acquired around the same time. Then I thought that spot would be the best for a greenhouse.

Now, anyone who has followed my blog over the last year will know how much I had looked forward to put up the greenhouse and growing things in it. You will also be aware of its untimely demise. But not to worry, I have now reverted to the idea of doing a spot of digging.

When the rains were very heavy recently, I saw that the ground was potentially digable. Of course, since it has dried up again, I am beginning to wonder if that wasn’t wishful thinking – I’ll have to get my spade out a bit more quickly next time – but I have dismantled the top half of the greenhouse in readiness for another opportunity to get that soil sorted.

  
I’m rather attached to the bottom half of the greenhouse. It will have to be moved but I think it could be covered with the parts of the cover which didn’t get torn over the summer. Then I’ll have more cloches to replace the ones which have seen better days.

Part of it could also become a table for potting up on. I’ve certainly got plenty of poles and joints to try it out. But more than anything I would like to reclaim the compacted ground to grow things in.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The garden path revisited

  1. I wonder if you layered dried leaves and cardboard over the winter if it would help amend the soil in this area making your digging a little bit easier. Do you think that would work? It looks like a nice stretch for more garden. Lucky you.

    • Helen says:

      Good idea, Alys. I’ve certainly got plenty of cardboard πŸ˜‰

      • I think it will give you nice rich soil and save you energy in the long run. Good luck.

        • Helen says:

          Yes, it certainly would. The issue is lack of leaves and compost, so it might become a project for next winter. (I’m trying not to buy compost, though there is an outside possibility that somewhere in the countryside the high winds haven’t blown all the leaves away).

          • Our autumn leaves are just now off the trees here after our first big rain of the season. I forget that leaves are off the trees much earlier in cooler climates. I wish I could send you the current pile at my curb. At the very least, perhaps you could lay down cardboard anyway and keep the weeds at bay. There is always something to do in the garden, eh? I’m glad it brings you so much joy, Helen.

          • Helen says:

            And I’m glad that you’ve had some rain, Alys.

            Thanks for the thought re leaves. One way or another, I’ll manage. At any rate, I have plenty of cardboard πŸ™‚

  2. Linda Penney says:

    Lovely post Helen thank you for sharing i was also going to say leaves or compost with manure in it if you can get some have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

