Fight for independence

It’s got to that time of the year when reporting on the ground has got a little thin. By the time I get home from work, it is definitely dark. So, the last time I popped into the garden it was just to pull a cabbage up (to eat).

I could report that one of my neighbour’s trees is starting to blossom. Actually, when I heard that the apple trees at the farm where I buy my food were blossoming, I found it incredulous. But now I have seen with my own eyes!

Nonetheless, I didn’t think it was my place to take a photo and stick it on my blog…. Instead, I have discovered a newsfeed delivered to my email inbox: Quartz. Have you heard of it?

It’s interesting. I’d like to claim that it gives me articles with a new perspective but then again the more widely you read, the wider the perspective anyway. However, it does keep me in touch with information I might not otherwise come across.

Which brings me on to the article I am going to share with you. In brief, it tells of a woman and her husband who are making maple syrup which they cannot sell independently, because the province of Quebec has let one big organisation control the market.

Maple Syrup in Canada

I’d like to say that kind of thing doesn’t happen here…., Well, we don’t produce maple syrup. But I naively thought the Canadians were above such practices!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fight for independence

  1. Linda Penney says:

    Lovely post thank you for sharing have a blessed Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

