December growth

I’d seen blossom on trees and heard of blossom on other trees but this afternoon I noticed that my own apple tree has grown new leaves. In December.

  
Now, I don’t know a lot about trees – of any sort – so it looks like some research is in order before I do any kind of pruning. The tree does need it and normally it would have been done by now. 

Admittedly, I seem to remember we did it at Old Sleningford Farm in February, so there is time yet to get the branches growing in the wrong direction etc sorted out. On the other hand, will new leaves grow in the spring or will the tree be simply too confused after growing them in the winter?

A less baffling matter is the new growth on the tomato plant I bought at the beginning of April. There has been a continual supply of cherry tomatoes since June, so I really couldn’t complain if it keeled over with exhaustion at this point. However, it clearly enjoys what it doing and is getting enough heat and light to do anything but. 

  
Maybe I’ve got yet another potential perennial on my hands?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to December growth

  1. Enjoy that growth on the apple. I always prune them end of winter .. Your tomato is showing off 😄

  2. Linda Penney says:

    Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen Have Blessed day

  3. That tomato plant still looks fab, I would suggest that there was still life in the old dog yet 😉

  4. You have the greener thumb then of anyone I have seen. My tomato plants usually run away from home. :).

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

