The questions keep coming

After the continual rain this last weekend, I decided that getting the crocosmia that have regrown near my favourite rose bush out was an opportunity I couldn’t miss.

  
Unfortunately, there are a few which are growing very close to the fir tee and digging them out would probably entail lifting the fennel as well. So, if I am to get them out, it will need to wait until the fennel goes in the herb garden I hope to establish in the spring.

On the other hand, I think I might have noticed something which may be a pleasant surprise on the other side of the tree. 

  
I say ‘might’ because the green shoots could be something along the lines of Spanish bluebells, which like the apple tree think it is spring already (haven’t they noticed the December gloom?). On the other hand, I’m rather hoping they could be garlic which didn’t sprout last year.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The questions keep coming

  1. Are you having an unusually warm December? We are here in Ontario Canada. It’s so warm today. It’s just nuts!!

  2. andy1076 says:

    I see you had the same rainfall we had here huh! it hasn’t stopped raining ‘At all’ for two weeks straight now, some of us here are forgetting what sunlight looks like πŸ™‚

  3. I love a garden mystery πŸ™‚ I currently have my own pot of “mystery” bulbs I am waiting to be able to identify – keep us posted!

  4. Linda Penney says:

    Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  5. gaiainaction says:

    Well Helen, that is a mystery, and maybe will be a nice surprise either way, I hope you discover soon. πŸ™‚

  6. Karen says:

    Even though Florida is known for warm winters, today was one of many that broke a record at 85 degrees f. I hope you get your wish and the sprouts are the garlic.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

