Spring on the way?

Yesterday, I was exultant about the piano we acquired last night (at long last!). I really wanted to write a post about it and how it had galvanised me into decluttering after the pledge I had made to myself at the start of the year. However, I somehow managed to make myself sound tired and bored (well, I was tired) – and in any case, look what I have just seen whilst hanging the washing out….

  
Now, I know for a fact that I would plant nothing in this spot by the rhubarb and path, so I am about as certain as can be that these are Spanish bluebells which have self-seeded.

It’s apparently 11 degrees C at present and might even be up to 16  tomorrow (it was a balmy 14.5 the other day, even if it didn’t get light at all). It’s also sunny, so it’s not just plants that are a bit confused.

For a moment, I wondered if I had slept through Christmas, which would be a bit of a shame as I was looking forward to being at home eating chocolate. In any case, I’d better get on with writing out Christmas cards…..

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring on the way?

  1. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. there are times when waking up having slept through Christmas has its temptations! … but its worth staying awake for another week I suppose if we can – and then the light will come back and it really will start to be proper spring – nearly

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

