Moving the rat house

Yesterday morning, I discovered another hole in the garden. It was to my mind clear therefore that a rat had set up home in the compost bin. So, as it hadn’t started rain again at that point, out came the space and a sturdy pair of gloves.

Sure enough, when the bin had been lifted, I could see the entrance to the tunnel created by my new garden occupant. And it had made a nest in the centre of the heap with some dry paper. But the rat was, fortunately, not in residence.

No doubt, however, between me and the rodent the compost will have been well and truly turned. Mixed with a good amount of soil from the tunnel.

the compost bin in its new position

I also took the opportunity to use some of the compost to cover the cardboard I had put down in a spot vacated by the red cabbages. It’s not exactly finished as of yet but by summer time when I want to plant some edibles there it will be great for them.

Fingers crossed the rat decides to find pastures new outside my garden. But in the meantime, after a restful night of sleep, the plan is to take out the cauliflowers which have lost their heads (in a manner of speaking).

I’ve never eaten piccalilli, much less made it, before but the beauty of preserves for me is that you can eat your produce for longer than if having a plateful of something steamed. And it will be rat-free as well!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Moving the rat house

  1. Thank you for sharing have a blessed day lets hope he moves on for you Helen

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Linda. I’ve just been outside and so far there’s no evidence of the rat but time will tell. Enjoy the fine weather if you have any today -it’s sunny here at the moment.

  2. Piccalilli is is Homestead staple…and its colour is sure to strike great joy into your midwinter heart 🙂

  3. patsquared2 says:

    Years ago I had a rat living in my compost bins. I decided that it had to go so I set a trap, I caught and killed it and have never done that again. I felt terrible and should have. There is enough out there to share. That’s been my philosophy ever since. Hope your rat relocates or you can find a way to peacefully cohabitate. Happy New Year!

    • Helen says:

      Yesterday a friend told me she had found baby rats in her compost which she hadn’t the heart to kill, so she left them to nature. I do hope my rat will relocate without me needing to think any further.

      Thank you for your kind words, Pat.

    • Pat your comment really touched me. I’m with you: I feel we’ve encroached so much on nature. Its nice to live and let live. Good for you.

  4. We use an electric device in the basement that emits a sound that drives mice off. They seem to run upstairs in our house instead. We need to purchase a second one to have in our home. I saw that they have solar driven devices for theYear.
    Honey

  5. Hope your rat moves away peacefully.

  6. Nothing like homemade pickle! Without the 4 legged critter as well. Hope he vacates soon 😄

  7. It’s a good thing rats are nocturnal so you rarely spot them during your day. I’m glad you found the nest without occupants. Hopefully they’ll move on to a quieter spot.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

