The primroses are out!

Last week in Bruges, I noted that primroses were in bloom. Perhaps it is therefore fitting that the flowers I saw in the back garden today were the same colour as the ones in Belgium.

 

I also noticed some phacelia amongst the greenery, though I doubt it is quite warm enough for it to bloom just yet. 

On the news a few minutes ago it said that the normal average temperature for December is 4 degrees C (across Britain, night and day temperatures combined). This December it has been double that.

No doubt this accounts for not only the primroses but the daffodil shoots in both my gardens. 

Flowers are always welcome but it would be sad if the daffodils had finished before Easter. The first photographs I took featured daffodils. I had got a camera for my birthday – the pictures were a bit blurred – but that is clearly I day out I will never forget!

  

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The primroses are out!

  1. Nice update thank you for sharing Helen i also have some primrose out in the front garden

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

