The shape of things to come (weather patterns)?

A few years ago, we had snow and ice at this time of year. It seemed to go on forever and I learned a new term cabin fever, as this became a common complaint.

Now, I don’t mind snow and ice because at least you can go out and they look pretty. It’s often still sunny or feels like it because of the light reflecting off the snow or ice.

However, I am developing serious cabin fever this time round. It has rained almost every day for about two months. So, as it was a little sunny when I woke up, intrigued and hopeful I checked the weather forecast on my phone.

  

I will have to get out into the garden, regardless. For my own sanity as well as doing something which might contribute to a slowing down of climate change. The prospect of more winters like this mostly certainly does not fill me with a warm glow.

The best to be said is that my daughter and I have enjoyed playing some card games over the last few days!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The shape of things to come (weather patterns)?

  1. Dani says:

    We’re currently in the midst of a drought, and with extremely high temps in the late 30’s – which we don’t normally get until late Feb / early March!! And last week we hit 41oC – never occurred where I live before. Completely absurd. Anyone who says that there is no such thing as global warming / climate change just has to study the weather world-wide right at this moment.

    • Helen says:

      Agreed! Sorry to hear you are suffering a drought. It wouldn’t be so bad if the resources of the weird weather systems could be redistributed.

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. Kalamain says:

    It’s El Nino that’s doing the shifting of weather patterns. Climate change is real and, I’m not afraid to say, scary!

    In 2010 (The year you were thinking of I believe) the UK all but came to a standstill. It was so bad it got its own Wikipedia entry!
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winter_of_2010–11_in_Great_Britain_and_Ireland

    I think that if it were just a bit cooler we would be under 147ft of snow. (Not an exaggeration at all)

    And to cap it all my crocus have started sprouting. (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)

    • Helen says:

      Yes, climate change is well scary!

      I’ll take a look at the Wikipedia entry. 2010 was the year I was thinking of. Snow from November onwards…..

      At least, we’re not under 147ft of snow – I think it’s warm because of all the cloud cover?

      Spring flowers out now might seem like some kind of bonus but it could mean bees starving later on, especially if weather patterns become more normal later on and there is a gap in flowers. Maybe I should sow some phacelia right now – I guess it would be warm enough for it to germinate.

      • Kalamain says:

        You can always pull it indoors if you put it in pots.

        And yes… It may be the cloud cover that makes it worse issue.

        • Helen says:

          Phacelia is a green manure so it needs to go in the ground really but I’ve got four very big bags of flowers saved from last year, so if it gets killed by frost there’s plenty more 🙂

  4. Yes, this constant rain is becoming annoying. I do know what you mean by cabin fever too.

    • Helen says:

      Hi Cath, nice to hear from you! I deactivated my Facebook account so I can no longer follow your forum – how’s life and the garden?

      • Life’s good, waiting for hubby to retire in July so we can be in the garden 24/7. Stormy weather here for weeks, and the rain has saturated the ground. My green tunnel aka The Sheebeen gave up it’s cover to storm Frank, but it was only the stitching that had already started to decay. The frame was rusting too, so a new project is developing about how to piece the Sheebeen together again in a different format in the Spring 😉

  5. gaiainaction says:

    I well understand your cabin fever, same here actually. It’s the rain and wind, and also the darkness that gets to one and prevents one from doing any amount of work in the garden, as well as the fact that everything is so wet, the soil is sodden and waterlogged. Let’s hope that it becomes colder and dryer 🙂 soon.

  6. Oh dear .. It rained here for 3 days this week and that was enough 😊

    • Helen says:

      Yes, rain is so tedious! Looking at the forecast for today, it shouldn’t start raining till about three today, which gives us the chance to get outside and pretend life is normal for a few hours 🙂

  7. That is a lot of rain! You must be going stir crazy. I’ve actually gardened in the rain in the past since our rains are usually warm. You get cold eventually, but it’s perfect for pulling up weeds.

    I hope you get a break from it soon, Helen.

    • Helen says:

      That could be happening very soon as we are set for sunshine and snow (as well as some rain) over the next week 🙂

      The best that can be said is that weeding certainly hasn’t been a problem…. Anyway, it is supposed to be dry today, so I hope I can get out for an hour later on.

      • Snow! Oh what fun. I miss the snow sometimes from my years in Canada, but I was young and didn’t have to drive it it. Pros and cons, eh?

        Enjoy getting your hands in the dirt.

        • Helen says:

          Well, the weather forecast has changed so we might get some snow later next week instead of at the beginning. But then we might not get any at all. I don’t mind driving over snow but it’s clearing it off the car in the morning and evening – not what you need in a rush.

          Snow is magical for children, though, isn’t it? How long were you in Canada?

          • I was born there, and stayed till I was six. My family moved to California. My mom was from Nova Scotia, my dad from Oldham, England. He was a horticulturist which is where I got my green thumb and love of gardening.

          • Helen says:

            So you’re actually Canadian/British then?

            Amazing in one generation how we can move the world!

          • Yes. My husband was born in the US to parents from Argentina and Italy, so we’re quite the international family: three continents.Were you born in the UK?

          • Helen says:

            Yes, and my family have been British for a few generations, though in my generation that has changed a bit.

            Anyway, yours is certainly an international family.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

