Fermented food

Last night at Leeds Permaculture Network social, we learned about fermenting food. On the whole, I can’t say I’m a fan, inspite of claimed health benefits.

However, I didn’t say no to some kefir grains, which so far don’t seem to be working. Then again, I remember last time I made kefir, one minute all I had was milk, the next it had turned into something like yoghurt.

Anyway, the social prompted me to tell you about the sauerkraut I made last autumn. Well, not so much give you a story as a picture of my lovely red cabbage being preserved for sometime when I want cabbage and there are no fresh left.

  
It is incredibly easy to make. Just shred the cabbage, layer with sprinkles of salt, agitate until brine is produced and top up with water to make sure the cabbage is covered. Then leave for about a week, if like me you have it in a pot (ceramic). Otherwise you can ferment in the jar you’ll be keeping it in.

As I said above, I’m not a huge fan of fermented food and I was disappointed that my sweet red cabbage had become rather bland in the fermentation process. At the same time, I’m glad to have learned something new and to have something in my store cupboard for the proverbial rainy day.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fermented food

  1. Awesome update thank you Helen for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Something I have never made but would like too 😄

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

