Last of the old

I woke up this morning to sunshine, so as soon as I had dropped my daughter off at school I was out in the garden. After all, at the very least, there were the rest of the onions to plant. Doing that in daylight was a lot easier than in the dark when I got home on Monday.

With that achievement out of the way, I got down to a small job I had been meaning to do for quite a while. Back in the summer of 2010, I had bought a potato-growing kit which came with three deep, round grow bags. Two of these has already needed to go in the bin but one had a strawberry plant in it.

In truth, I never got more than a handful of strawberries. The original plants had not been the most productive and the meagre runners produced plants which were even less so. Besides, with having such a small garden (relatively speaking) I had to keep the grow bag on soil which could obviously not therefore be used for anything else.

  

So now the strawberry plant is in the compost bin and the remaining compost has been used to mulch the Swiss chard which will now be into its second year. As recommended by drofmit4108, I’ve cut it right back and hopefully with the mulch it will come back to produce more leaves this year.

Since the going was still good and my fingers and toes weren’t too cold, I also decided to give the apple tree a little trim. And by little, I do mean little – apart from one long branch, I didn’t feel there was much pruning needed. Besides, as it appears to be a tip bearing tree I didn’t want to lose this year’s crop before we even get started!

The upshot of this little task was an idea: could I grow a new tree from a cutting? Apparently, yes, so I’ve stuck the cutting in a pot so that it doesn’t dry out, while I think about how to proceed.

I think that any resultant tree would possibly grow quite big, so I’m not sure it should be going in my garden. But should the cutting root, I can think about what to do next at that point.

apple tree cutting with the fuchsia

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Last of the old

  1. Awesome post Helen thank you for sharing have have a blessed day my two fruit tress are coming along that i grow from seed will have take some photos

    • Helen says:

      Yes, vertical gardening is a good idea. As for strawberries, I have lots of other plants in my forest garden. The question is how to keep the birds off the fruit without covering the whole lot in netting.

      • Kalamain says:

        Not sure about your place but birds don’t come so close to the wall. Not sure why. (Probably because the cat likes to sit on the windowsill TBH!)

        Maybe fitting one of those shrieker things that scares cats off?

        • Helen says:

          I don’t quite follow you – do you mean something to frighten the birds?

          I’m trying to create a haven for birds, so I don’t think there is an easy answer really.

          • Kalamain says:

            Yes and no. Yes they are made to frighten them… But you position it so it only covers your strawbs.

            Or you could use wire mesh on hooks?

          • Helen says:

            I think the strawberries cover too much space, so basically the birds would be frightened out of the garden.

            Wire mesh would be a better alternative to plastic netting πŸ™‚

          • Kalamain says:

            Plus wire mesh can be moulded to suit and hooked and unhooked at will… Netting is a royal pain and can actually entangle birds.

            I put some netting over my pond to stop leaves falling in but a blackbird got tangled when having a bath… It was gone the next day. B-(

          • Helen says:

            Poor blackbird 😦 I have had to get sparrows out of netting before.

  2. Oh a day in the garden without rain. Nice, Helen!

  3. gaiainaction says:

    That is cool Helen, I hope that it grows for you as it is always nice to experiment with growing things. Wishing you success πŸ™‚

  4. I have wild strawberries growing on my lawn in my backyard. I don’t know if they’re edible, I’ve never tried them. They’re small. I’ve also tried rooting a plant and used rooting mix but whatever I was trying to root, I think it was rosemary, didn’t root. A friend gave me a branch from her garden and I gave her a branch of my sage. Instead, I bought a potted rosemary plant at Meijer for $2.00. Cheaper and less work. I brought it in the house this year but I’m pretty sure I over-watered it and it looks dead to me. I did get to use some of its leaves for cooking before it expired! I hope you have better luck than I did!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

