PDC day 1

I had tried not to be too excited about the start of the Permaculture Design Course but inevitably there was a degree of anticipation about what I would experience. The thing about experience is that I have learned if I expect X it will turn out to be Y. So was that the case today?

Well, the jury’s out. It’s hard to put my teaching instincts aside and be a student. However, being in that position is a lesson in itself. Humility is no bad thing. And preconceptions can inhibit learning. 

So, while the objective of the course may not directly have been to help me with my own pedagogy, it has certainly already opened my eyes in a way I wasn’t expecting.

sign on a raised bed at Hollybush Conservation Centre, where the course is based. seems like it’s not just some people in my own life who get confused!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to PDC day 1

  1. Awesome update thanks for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. jane says:

    Must meet up soon, love to hear more about Permaculture…don’t really understand it. Have my raised beds now in my back garden just need some good weather and filling ! xx

    • Helen says:

      Great that you’ve got raised beds now, Jane. Would be lovely to visit and see how your garden is doing. Permaculture is ultimately a design system and I’m not great with design (apart from designing lessons, I hope)….. However, its basic premise is creating a happier, healthier world which is what attracts me πŸ™‚ xxx

  3. Helen, all this time following your blog and I didn’t know you were a teacher!

    I’m glad you’re finding lessons in the unexpected. That’s wonderful learning in itself, isn’t it?

  4. Okay, I’m back after reading an extensive Wiki article on permaculture. It’s fascinating. I can see many of the things I’m doing well, areas that need improving, and things I want to change. You’ve really got me thinking this morning. Thanks, Helen.

  5. Best of luck with the course!

  6. We decided to do a PDC course about six months ago – so far we haven’t quite booked it, so I suppose that’s the first lesson in Permaculture – book the course! Glad to see the notice – we often suffer from random outbreaks of weeding. We’ve had to stop 2 volunteers removing buddleias – weeds to the tidy but food to butterflies. πŸ˜‰

  7. You’ve been practicing permaculture long before you began taking classes! I wasn’t familiar with the term until reading your post. Thank you!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

