Covering up

At last, we seem to be having some winter weather. The sun is out and it’s frosty.

  
You probably can’t see any evidence of frost in the above photo but the ground is actually an itsy-bitsy bit hard. Hard enough to walk on without the now-familiar squelch of mud but not hard enough to stop the pegs holding down the cloche from going into the soil.

The cloche are not, however, there for the purpose of keeping my onions warm. Even the ones with plastic covers rather than netting are too battered and holey to serve such a purpose. The hope is simply that they will keep the birds off.

I’ve not generally had a problem with birds disturbing onion sets but this morning (the first time I’ve been able to see the garden in daylight since Monday) I noticed that one or two of the onions I planted last Friday had moved.

Anyway, with the advent of colder weather it will be interesting to see if the onions still flourish. Onions are ubiquitous in cooking, are they not, so it would be great if I got all 50 of the sets to maturity – and for the princely sum of just £1.99!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Covering up

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. Have you had snow yet? Here in the Cotswolds we’re due to get some next week. I love the beautiful blue sky days with the frosts – that’s proper winter! Hope the onions survive.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Kathryn. No snow here apart from a mild flurry yesterday which didn’t lay. So much prettier to have sun and cold weather, though, isn’t it!

  3. I love this crisp,cold,bright weather. Helen….I cannot see a “Like” button.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

