Snow

  
It seems a long time since there was any snow. According to the weather forecast, it is unlikely to last – and in any case, why not take pleasure in it while we can?

After an early evening walk, I therefore took some shots around the garden. It was quite hard to capture the essence of the scene but the shot above suggests something of the beauty of freshly fallen snow.

Whilst taking photos, I also noticed that you get a better perspective of height when you’re looking at monochrome. Or is it because the clutter is obscured by a covering of white?

In any case, it occurred to me that there was more height in the garden than I had thought. Some of the structures are of a non-living kind but overall I’m pleased to be heading in a more vertical direction. It’s taking longer than I would have imagined but trees don’t grow that fast.

Anyway, I’m also pleased that the onions have got some cloche cover. From watching a Charles Dowding video I learned that while covering may not increase the temperature underneath, the crops are less exposed to the damaging effects of the elements. He had a polytunnel of lettuce, which didn’t mind the cold as in other ways they were protected. So, all being well, overwintering onions should be okay.

   

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Snow

  1. Kalamain says:

    Isn’t it the wind that does more damage?
    When the cell walls are frozen then can thaw fine as long as they are not disturbed too much.

    I don’t know where I learned that… Or if I dreamt it up… O.o

    We got about an inch and a half here. >.>

    • Helen says:

      Yes, it’s the wind. I’m not sure how comfortable onions are with being frozen, though, going on my experience before. Anyway, no harm in trying πŸ™‚

      Not sure how deep the snow is here. Maybe about the same as you.

  2. Look at that snow! It’s beautiful. Snow really does alter our perception of a space.

  3. mybrightlife says:

    Have you had snow at all this season or is this the first fall?

  4. Ah I bet your onions are loving that cloche! Black and white is great for reality shots ..

  5. Lovely update Helen we still waiting for our proper snow have a blessed day

  6. gaiainaction says:

    I remember very well when I was growing up, the garden would have a covering of snow, the dark green cabbages half covered made a beautiful display πŸ™‚ Lovely photo!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

