Ready for the next move

It’s hard to believe that we had snow on Sunday, considering it’s now 12 degrees C and sunny. I didn’t think I was going to get out into the garden earlier on, though, as the heavens opened and we had a bit of a downpour.

Anyway, since the sun did come out at last, I cleared away the final bits of the greenhouse frame, so the ground is ready for the Wendy house, which has been my outdoor storage space for the last few years.

 

There is still a bit of resistance to the idea of the details involved in permaculture design but I had already earmarked the herb garden as a potential area to work on during the PDC. So, all being well, I will learn and end up with a great patch for my herbs.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ready for the next move

  1. Kalamain says:

    I was in work while the sun was shining… Bah… I could have done with the nice weather to get some jobs done. Oh well… At least there is the weekend!

  2. We had a high of -15.5 Celsius at noon today. I am afraid to find out how cold it got last night. I am a little envious that you can work in your garden already. I can only dream about spring for a while yet.
    Have fun!
    honey

  3. I pulled a few weeds today under a gentle rain. It was wonderful after so many dry years. Your space is shaping up nicely. I’m glad you had a bit of sun, Helen, to allow you to work in the garden.

    • Helen says:

      I’m glad you have had some gentle rain, Alys. Hopefully, that will become part of a normal pattern. Fortunately, the rain of November/December we had here has stopped and we’ve gone back to a more normal pattern of a few hours one day and then no more for a few days.

      The space I’ve created for the Wendy house looks great. I wish that instead I could fill it up with plants, as per my earlier plan, but at least I don’t need to sort out the issue of soil compaction in that area πŸ™‚

      • Thank you, Helen. In the perfect world, it would rain gently at night, and never all at once. Flooding is horrible. Like many things, too much is just as bad as too little.

        I know you’re disappointed to lose an area you intended to plant, but once it’s all in place, maybe you can create vertical planting areas around the Wendy house/shed. In other words, you may have more planting space than you thought. I hope so.

        • Helen says:

          Vertical planting round the shed sounds a good idea. I haven’t really lost any ground, though, as the Wendy house moving has opened up a better growing area πŸ™‚

          It’s taken me a long time to get to this point – I’ve been itching for so long to have the bed next to the house up and running but it is here at last…

          • This is happy news then. Space planning makes all the difference. You can often put together parcels of land to make a bigger whole. I’ve seen a lot of people use wood pallets, often free or cheap, for vertical planting. Are those available to you in your community?

          • Helen says:

            Yes, you can get them for free from wood merchants.

            Using them + vertical planting is an area I know nothing about apart from seeing some wonderful photos. Anyway, that is something to investigate in the future πŸ™‚

            I was interested in your comment about putting together parcels of land to make a bigger whole. If I have understood the permaculture principle ‘Value edges and the marginal’ correctly, it is believed that smaller spaces work better as they have more edges. I can see the logic in that, if you think of raised beds: too wide and you can’t get to the middle.

          • Ah, I understand now what you mean by edges. And yes, planting boxes are a good example. I was thinking more along the lines of having two narrow, unusable spaces, made in to one whole space. Permaculture is fascinating.

          • Helen says:

            And I see what you mean too about spaces being too narrow. It all depends on what you want the ground for, does it not?

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Great work Helen! Glad your rain stopped for a while. Here still 10C and wet wet wet! Still no work done in the garden πŸ™‚ just got to go with the flow. First thing I saw out the window this morning was the seagulls were circling inland above our houses, meaning stormy weather, well it was windy but no storm, but extremely wet again today.

    • Helen says:

      What a shame – you must be going insane with all the rain and stormy weather. Here we haven’t had much rain for at least a week and it’s such a relief!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

