Woodhouse and the Wendy house

I’ve become an enthusiastic visitor of Leeds Community Clothes Exchange since I first attended in September last year. As part of my quest to reduce my carbon footprint and create a fairer world, it’s great that I’ve been able to revamp my wardrobe in this way. It’s also a lot cheaper to pay the £3 entry and swap clothes I no longer wear for ones a really want to!

Anyway, whilst wandering through  Woodhouse, a rather down-at-heel part of Leeds, where the Exchange is held, I found the church we did a practice base map at on the first week of the PDC. Next to it was a play ground where my daughter was the only child playing. It was sunny and 13 degrees, so I was particularly saddened that the place seemed so desolate.

  
On the other hand, I was pleased to be able to take a photo, at last, of the building featured below, which I have passed many a time on my way to and from work. Woodhouse may have its problems but it’s also a place where lots of interesting stuff is going on and there are people with a sense of fun and imagination.

  
Then back home the fun continued, as I felt fired up to tackle the Wendy house before it got dark. 

  
I gave up trying to dismantle the house, once I’d got the roof off.  Just as well it has had a reprieve and will be staying with me for a while longer, considering its next owner might prefer it flat to take away. On the other hand, I’m not sure my winter veg enjoyed it being walked all over them…. In the above photo, it was having a rest on some onions.

But at last, it was in the spot where the greenhouse stood last year

  
and I now have a very bare patch of ground next to the house which I hope will one day be an interesting, if not pretty, herb garden.

  

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Make do and mend, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Woodhouse and the Wendy house

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

    • Helen says:

      It really is 🙂

      I was thinking this morning that one of the attractions for me is knowing that the clothes should be going to someone in this country who will wear them, rather than either landfill or shipped off to a country which might have its own clothing industry, ailing at least in part because of charity.

      I was a bit disappointed on Saturday as I didn’t come home with anything too exciting. But the other members (you get a card when you first go, thus becoming a member so they can keep a tally of your clothes credits) are so friendly and there is such a happy atmosphere there.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

