Is it March?

It’s a while since I’ve paid any attention to the front garden, apart from collecting stray rubbish which was caught amongst the plants. On Sunday, however, there was no mistaking the daffodil bud on the verge of opening.

  
I seem to remember that these mini daffodils were early flowering last year, when I got them as a present from my parents. I also think that they may flower twice, so I’m neither so surprised nor disappointed to see them in January.

The chard next to the daffodils, on the other hand, is looking decidedly the worse for wear. So there must be slugs about as well. No doubt they are enjoying the string of days at 13 degrees Celsius but it’s definitely weird.

Anyway, I may as well appreciate the upside of the unseasonably warm weather for the flowers – and lower heating bills!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Is it March?

  1. Kalamain says:

    Lots of people have been saying that slugs and snails are out and about already. This is not good.

  2. Lovely post Helen i think its this strange weather we having have a blessed day Helen

  3. Karen says:

    We all appreciate lower heating bills, then adding the beginnings of flowers…how nice.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

