Call me crazy!

One thing I never thought I would be doing was picking up branches from the street and taking them home. But that’s just what I did yesterday.

  
Not that I was on a country walk.

I was rushing towards my car after a day at work when I noticed a branch. Well, hard not to see it, considering it was on the pavement in front of me. The wind has been blowing a lot of branches off trees lately – I’m getting small ones in the garden all the time.

Anyway, you may ask why I was doing a mini clear up in LS6. Especially as I already have a fair stack of wood at home.

So far, the hugel beds have contained a bit of wood but I realise that more is most definitely better when it comes to these matters. As the wood decomposed, it soaks up water which means plants need less watering. So, more wood more hydration for my plants….

Only about two weeks to go till the next opportunity to use the wood.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Call me crazy!

  1. mybrightlife says:

    Love it Helen…the crazy branch lady. What do the neighbours think!!??!! Such a simple concept. Makes so much sense.

    • Helen says:

      To be honest, I’m not bothered what the neighbours think. One of the branches fell off my neighbour’s tree and could have hurt my daughter or I (it was pretty big). The other sprays chemicals on my property…. The latter does seem more intrigued than horrified, though.

      Anyway, glad you like the idea šŸ™‚

  2. Awesome update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Kalamain says:

    Nothing wrong with picking up sticks and fallen branches.
    If nothing else you are pisking up litter and making the area neat and tidy… Just very selectively! B-)

  4. I would like to see how you use them in your garden later. I would think the rotting branches would attract insects as well. I am sure it can be placed to be aesthetically pleasing to the eye as well.
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      The branches are actually going in a hugel bed, which basically means they are buried under the soil. Perhaps in the future I will develop a wildlife area but at the moment I need to build up soil fertility šŸ™‚

  5. I love that you’re gathering branches to bring home. I’m sorry to read, though, that you are wedged between two difficult neighbors. That’s no fun at all.

    • Helen says:

      Well, only one of them has been vocal with criticisms. The other might never have meant to be more than helpful – and I think she is generally philosophical at least. I don’t want to cause any distress but, at the same time, I don’t want to constrained (and thus feel distress myself) by what is after all a matter of opinion.

      • It’s a delicate balance with neighbors. We don’t live with them, but are close enough that it is always nicer if we can be on good terms. I’m often the odd one out, doing my own thing and not following along with trends so I’m used to that. It’s not always easy though.

        • Helen says:

          No, it isn’t easy but then living with your conscience isn’t easy if you feel you’re not being true to yourself. Funny how people feel they can show their judgements – I guess, by us acting differently, they feel we are judging them, too.

          • That is probably very true. I’ve read that it’s common to distrust what we don’t know. That’s probably why early childhood education is so critical. It’s when we lay down the foundation for thinking later on. If we’re raised to be open and honest, it will be easier in the long run I think.

          • Helen says:

            That is an interesting point. My parents introduced me to as much as they could (on top of my school education) and I try to do the same with my daughter. I think it does make a difference.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

