Bins in small gardens

This time last year, I did an inventory of all the bins in my garden. In total, there were seven, which was taking up a good bit of space in a relatively small patch of land. 

One way or another, there was a reason for their presence, apart from an old style dustbin (with no lid). Goodness knows how long it had been there or indeed how it had ended up there, considering wheelie bins came in before the house was even built!

Now, that’s one mystery I don’t need to solve. The question instead was what was I going to do with the bin. I had thought it could be used to store rainfall. Mmm, good idea but, alas, the bottom had perished. Result: a well-watered patch of ground I wasn’t growing anything in.

Well, no more. It was this afternoon taken to the municipal waste disposal site, and thus I now have that bit more space to grow things in.

waste bin enjoying one final burst of sunshine. after that, it started to rain and then hail – or was it sleet – anyway.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bins in small gardens

  1. Kalamain says:

    Did you not think to grow potatoes in it?

    The perished bottom isn’t an issue as the roots growing into the ground below is not an issue. But not an issue. B-)

    • Helen says:

      I’m not keen to grow potatoes, considering with the compost I reckon it would cost more than actually buying them. And even if it didn’t, there is the issue of watering – I’m trying not to use mains water – as well as the fact that I would have to buy the compost in, whereas I’m trying to operate a closed loop system within my garden. And of course, I want the ground for my herb garden, anyway 🙂

  2. gaiainaction says:

    How intriguing to find a bottomless bin that you found no use for. I guess it was eventually better to get rid of it, old things out and new things in! You made me think Helen, making plans/inventory of my unused bit of back garden where goodness knows what I will find. Have a nice weekend. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Actually, the bin did have a bottom – I couldn’t see any holes but no water would stay in it for any length of time.

      I guess I could have tried to move the bin to a new home through Freegle but I’ve noticed that this kind of thing stays on the boards for weeks and my timeframe is somewhat shorter than that.

      Anyway, doing some kind of inventory of what you’ve got in your unused bit of garden might throw up some interesting surprises. Why do you not use this bit?

      Anyway, have a good weekend, too, Agnes. 🙂

  3. Thank you for a lovely update Helen have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

