New year – new tomato

Last April, I bought a tomato plant which has since lived in a pot in my dining room. It produced two rounds of cherry tomatoes and then I thought it would be finished.

However, new flowers appeared around Christmas time, just as we ate the final few fruit. And now we have round three of tomatoes. Or rather, there is a single tomato, which hopefully means the first of many more.

  
I wonder if this tomato plant could be classed as a perennial?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New year – new tomato

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. That’s impressive – I’ve overwintered chillies and peppers but not tomatoes. Good luck with that one

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Jackie. I have overwintered before but I don’t think the plants started flowering again after Christmas. Hence, my surprise ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Kalamain says:

    As far as I was aware all tomatoes are perennial if you treat them right. They are from Tropical South America (Mexico?) so will do really well in that climate if you can provide it.

    I used to over winter tomatoes and chillies when I was young and good seeds were expensive (so my Gran said!).
    Not sure how they will taste though. Did you feed them at all over winter?

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I guess we don’t overwinter them as a general rule here because when it gets cold they die outside and under cover we assume they are past it, too. Your Gran was right in a sense – why buy when you can keep going with what you already have!

      I’ve been feeding them a mixture of coffee grinds and bokashi mix. I’ll let you know how they taste when they ripen ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Good on you Helen, enjoy many tomatoes ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I never thought about overwintering vegetables. What kind of sun does it get? So interesting they bloomed in your dining room.

    • Helen says:

      They are right up against the back door, which is basically all window. There hasn’t been a lot of sun but it has been a warm winter and the window is south-facing, if that helps.

      I’ve got overwintering chillies, but I’ve had success with those for a few years now. They even thrive on a north-facing windowsill but then they are just above the radiator!

  6. That’s an interesting thought. It is acting like it is one, must be all the TLC it is getting.

  7. Sounds like a great plant.

  8. S says:

    In tropical and semi tropical locales tomatoes will act like perennials. A little TLC and tomatoes for nearly ever. I have a large jalapeno pepper in my kitchen that has been pumping out the peppers all winter. I will put it back in the ground when it gets warm enough.

    • Helen says:

      You even dig them up and bring them in! Wow.

      I have peppers in pots that I brought in and intend to keep for as long as possible. They flowered but didn’t fruit in the darkest months.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

