Out by the roots

I was on a bit of roll this morning. Maybe it was going out first thing and feeling I had achieved something before returning home, or maybe I was buoyed up what seems to a new, friendlier member of staff at the haberdasher’s.

In any case, the area where I am going to plant a herb garden is now clear of all impediments, such a wheelie bins and greenhouse frames. 

Then I started on the weeding. The back garden is easy enough to managed but the front garden is another matter. Bits of vegetation that I’ve left so that the soil is covered camouflages the grass from the lawn which used to be there. However, the blades of grass came out really easily, so hopefully from now on it will get easier and easier to keep it at bay.

Front garden 1 February 2016

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Out by the roots

  1. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Kalamain says:

    Will you be mulching?
    I’m trying to get hold of a bale of hay to see if that works at all. I know grass clippings works well. I’m hoping hay is better.

    • Helen says:

      I don’t know about the benefits of grass vs. hay. Hay might blow away more easily but it won’t rob your plants of nitrogen as much, I guess. What will you be mulching?

      As for my front garden, it already has a mulch in the sense that I cut down the green manure last autumn and left it in situ. In order to pull out the grass and weeds, I decided to remove most of it (now in the compost bin) but there is still clover growing and no doubt the phacelia etc will have self-sown as it did last year.

      Apart from keeping weeds down, the reason for the green manure is to keep neighbouring pets off the ground. Last year at this time, when I started to get rid of the lawn, I put down cardboard, which I covered with manure, so there is plenty of goodness in there. However, the cats made it into a toilet before the phacelia got going 😮

      • Kalamain says:

        I hate some cat owners. >.>
        The mulching will mainly be the veg plot but I may put some in various parts of the garden to keep weeds down. Also I may put some at the back of the pond to keep the nettles from encroaching… If that works. >.>

        • Helen says:

          Last year, I used cut-down phacelia as a mulch round tomato plants and it didn’t blow away. That was a bit like hay only heavier.

          I follow another blog or two where they grow through hay or straw and they seem to be doing very well.

  3. It’s looking good, Helen. I too have been pulling bits of the old lawn out from under the mulch, but like you, I expect it to be less and less, especially if I keep pulling it out before it has a chance to flower and seed.

  4. Sheri Fox says:

    Okay, I’m all caught up on your past three months! Funny, we are still on the same path. I’ve gotten very interested in Permaculture and have done my base plan for our new place. We have a whole acre to work with/figure out, and new weather patterns and rainfall to get acquainted with. We are slowly mapping out where new trees will go, building hugel beds and sheet mulching parts of the meadow. Today I’m sowing seeds in the pollinator habitat. Whew. So happy to be back in touch, I look forward to following along on your perma-journey! 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I’d love to have your space – and great that you are building hugel beds etc.

      Anyway, thanks very much for taking the time to catch up with my blog. Likewise, it will be interesting to see how you develop your land 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

