Dreaming of a potting shed

On our travels today (ostensibly to go to the National STEM Centre at the Univetsity of York for an afternoon of workshops around the theme of Space), I thought I would take a look at sheds.

My default position is to go for economy to the detriment of my real desire. Thus, the 6×4 (feet) was the first option. A bit pokey, mind. So, the salesman had no trouble directing me to something a bit bigger.

Ah, but you’re into gardening, he soon gleaned, and before we knew it we were admiring a handsome potting shed. For better or worse, though, I don’t have the cash right now for even the 6×4 shed. In other words, I had better start saving.

I could of course construct my own. Well, maybe not, but it is definitely a possibility if you have the know-how and probably an extra pair of hands….

potting shed at a friends’. not constructed by them but certainly an inspiration.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dreaming of a potting shed

  1. Kalamain says:

    I would kill for a potting shed but I have nowhere to site it. B-(
    I used to pass a shed store every day when I worked at for the council and I even nipped in to get a brochure but they are WELL out of my pocket range. B-(

    For now I use my outhouse to store my crap and my greenhouse to grow things. And, yes… My outhouse is actually a toilet/coal room attached to the side of the house. So very Yorkshire! B-)

  2. Good luck with it. A garden shed is a joy forever, or in my case until they fall down. I have not been lucky with sheds. ;-(

    • Helen says:

      How long have yours lasted on average?

      • The first one came with the house and was not very strong – lasted about five years before the wind blew it down. By that time I had built a better one and painted it with wood preservative – let a honeysuckle grow over it, which hid the fact that the base and lower walls were rotting. Replaced bits but after about ten years gave up. Since then have gone the outhouse and plastic greenhouse route. If I get another shed I will buy a proper one and make sure it is pressure treated timber., but at the moment there always seems something else to buy.

        • Helen says:

          A pressure-treated timber shed is not cheap. That’s what I’ve been looking at – I think they are guaranteed for 15 years. In this case a £600 potting shed would cost £40/year. Still, it’s getting the money together in the first place.

          By outhouse, do you mean brick building?

  3. That is a handsome shed. I like the slanted wall with windows. I hope your dream becomes a reality.

  4. Awesome update have a blessed day

  5. What a nice shed! I had no idea that they only lasted 15 years. Making one requires tools. If you can borrow tools and have friends who would help it would be fun. It will be interesting to see what you dream up.
    honey

    • Helen says:

      I’m afraid I don’t have friends who could help me, so I think I would need to buy, unless there was a change in circumstances. The shed could last for far more than 15 years, though. It’s just that the guarantee lasts that long 🙂

  6. That is such a flash potting shed!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

