Chard roots

When I first started gardening, the aim was to have an end product: a pleasing garden and some food to eat. Then I discovered that it was a wonderful source of learning.

My most recent discovery is that chard can produce a root, which may be eaten.

  
I was taken by surprise the other day when tidying up the front garden. Hidden under wilted and dying phacelia, mustard and other green manure was the splendid root featured above. 

It would be a shame to pull up the root while the plant is still producing tender leaves but I might just give it a go once the plant looks like it is going to bolt. I guess the root will get tougher after that?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Chard roots

  1. Is this plant from last year? I did not realize chard was a perennial.
    Honey

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. Do you mean the roots below ground or the stalks that you have pictured there? I’d love to know if the chard roots are truly edible. We eat the stalks, pickle them, and love them that way! Thanks for this post!

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for reading! Actually, I meant neither…… In the photo, there’s a bulb, for wont of a better word, that looks a bit like a beetroot, which I would have thought it was if I didn’t know it was chard. I don’t know if you can eat the true roots, though my guess is that it might be more because they would be a bit tough than poisonous or something.

  4. I’ve never eaten a chard root .. You have hot me thinking πŸ˜€

  5. Whoops .. Got me thinking! πŸ˜„

  6. We have some chard that was accidentally planted in a flower bed by a volunteer. It grew well through winter, providing good foliage for the bed though it’s now past its best. I will look at the roots!

  7. gaiainaction says:

    Interesting that. I think that I have a few chard that I planted back in autumn but have not looked at since. I don’t think they did much and I will just leave them in the soil and see what happens. πŸ™‚

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

