PDC day 4

Whereas the PDC yesterday looked at the big picture of landscapes and climate globally, today’s lessons were more down to earth, literally as well as metaphorically.

Although I am already working on creating a closed loop system within my home and garden, whereby I recycle and reuse as much as I can without having to buy in unnecessarily, it’s always good to find out how I might do it differently or better.

removing the chlorine from water to make compost tea

I’m not sure if and when I will start making compost tea – it would require the purchase of more equipment and in any case I already have bokashi tea, which is useful for the home as well as garden. At the same time, now I have seen what it entails, this information can be stored for the future. You just never know when it might help you make a connection with something else.

Anyway, the best bit about today was analysing our soil samples. I had taken in some from the herb garden where I built the hugel bed on Friday.

My dad had once told me he thought I had loam but I suspected the soil had clay-like qualities. So, guess what? It would appear I have clay loam.

The sample is now in a water suspension so that I can do some further analysis once the sediment settles. And I’m curious to see what it reveals.

 

soil in water suspension so that it can be analysed for its constituents


 
Time for bed now, though. That’s enough thinking for one day.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to PDC day 4

  1. gaiainaction says:

    This is really interesting when it comes to testing your soil, and it’s important too isn’t it. Clay loam is about the same as my soil here, but I need to do more tests again as I’ve added a lot of organic matter since I tested the soil a year or two ago. I’m also curious to see what more is to be revealed about your soil Helen.

    • Helen says:

      Soil is fascinating – so a day with that and compost was the best 🙂

      I hadn’t ever tested my soil but read in books what to and therefore seen the clay-like properties as well as the loam-like ones. However, I thought loam was somehow manna from heaven and my new build house couldn’t have it.

      That said, of course, it does need amending to enable my plants to get at the nutrients. So, if you’ve been amending yours, it will probably still be clay loam, I guess, but a lighter version of?

      The Ph might have altered too – do you know what your Ph is?

  2. Awesome update Blessing to you and the family Helen

  3. Kalamain says:

    Hmm… Never done a soil test in my garden.

    This is the one where you take three samples of soil from the garden and 2/3rds fill a jam jar each with some cool water… Shake like crazy and let it settle for a few days?
    Then you look at the soil it will be in layers… That denotes the soil type.

    Is that right?

    • Helen says:

      Yes, except that I’ve only got the one sample. Somewhere I’ve also got a tester for pH. It would interesting to know for sure what that is, though I think that has less of a bearing on why I don’t get the produce I could.

  4. Karen says:

    You and your father were both right. 🙂 It will be very interesting to see the final results.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

