Saved from landfill

 

Long before I had a garden, I used to live a far more sustainable life. I had a small flat in the city centre and didn’t drive a car. Now, my carbon footprint is much greater, although I endeavour to use all the means I can to minimise the negative impact I make on this earth.

One such endeavour is making use of sites such as Freegle (a UK equivalent of Freecycle, though that does exist here, too). Thus, tonight I handed over the old bathroom carpet, which had actually been hanging round the house for a couple of years, while I plucked up the courage to fit my bathroom with lino. (I needed to keep the carpet as a template.)

Aside from saving the carpet from landfill, I have moved one step closer to creating a home, inside as well as out, which is a space I truly want it to be.

Clutter has been a major barrier to harmony and creating a low-impact space. A year gone January, after reading People and Permaculture by Looby Macnamara, I brainstormed what to do in overcoming this barrier, and in truth it took me a long time to get started. 

Then summer came and quite a lot has been achieved since then. There is still some way to go but I am making in-roads and the picture of what I really need to do is becomig clearer. Not least, I need to save money – lots of it – for the more costly projects, such as having a wood burner fitted. But having goals is good, isn’t it now?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Saved from landfill

  1. For sure. Goals good, clutter bad.

  2. patsquared2 says:

    I love pretending that I’m moving and figuring out just what I won’t be taking with me then selling it, giving it away or throwing it out. It is AMAZING what you don’t really need and yet keep…just in case. Sounds like you are on your way to a life less cluttered with junk and more filled with life affirming activities and tools. Enjoy!

  3. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  4. gaiainaction says:

    That is brave Helen, and clever to use the old carpet as a template for the lino. We seems to be thinking in the same way at the moment, I was just going to write a blog on how I am attempting to fill holes and skim an inside wall of a bedroom. But I will wait a little longer to see my results, its a first attempt you see. Meanwhile I’ve been encouraged by your write-up. 🙂

  5. I applaud your efforts. I also wouldn’t be surprised if one of two things happens with your daughter: she’ll be inspired by your efforts to reduce clutter as it creates a harmonious environment for both of you, or she’ll simply outgrow many of her attachments. It happened with my boys and I hope that will be true for you, too. Congratulations on moving forward.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Alys. I think she will be inspired. Getting the piano at the end of last year provided the impetus for some decluttering, when it was definitely in her interests to make some space.

      On the other hand, I really need that shed to get things like bikes out of the house 😉

  6. atkokosplace says:

    Goals are wonderful! I make them daily and it’s such a good feeling to check them off as I reach them. Some goals take longer as money is always needed or time to do them, but all in all, goals are fantastic. Best wishes on your project! I know it will come out beautifully! Cheers, Koko:)

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

