Among the sculptures

I’ve been to Yorkshire Sculpture Park several times. It’s only a few miles down the road from where I live now and set in extensive parkland, it’s a stimulating place to walk if you’re interested in art.

   
   
The ‘Mickey Mouse’ sculptures in the above photos are one of the current temporary exhibitions. I was rather more taken with an indoor installation but was not allowed to take photographs of that.

On the other hand, there was no bar on taking a photograph of these

  
camellia. 

Twenty-four hours ago I had not consciously been aware of camellia, let alone knowingly looked at one. Now, I also know that this is where the drink of tea comes from. Pretty flowers, too!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Among the sculptures

  1. Camellias are such glorious shrubs .. They always seem bright, happy plants ..😀

  2. Lovely update i have one in the garden Camellias might put bubble wrap round it meant to be getting snow and below zero tempter this coming week have a blessed day

  3. gaiainaction says:

    That’s real nice Helen, looks like you had a lovely visit there, love the camellia bush too, great to see the flowers so early in spring.

    • Helen says:

      The camellia were in a building – what might be termed a hot house. I’d never come across this building on the site, so I was doubly pleased. The friend I was with knows a lot more about plants than I do, so she was the one who informed me of what I was looking at.

      It certainly was a lovely visit. I’m glad you enjoyed the snap-shot of it, Agnes 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

