Inside – February 2016

Because of half term and the PDC last weekend, gardening activities have been a bit topsy-turvy over the part week. Finally, though, yesterday I managed to pot on the cauliflower seedlings, which have been doing so well on the window-that-works.

I could also have sworn that there is a tomato on the second indoor tomato plant, which started spontaneously from compost in the autumn. It seems to have disappeared – but I do hope this was more than just a product of wishful thinking.

On the other hand, I wish that the current round of aphids on the chilli plant was wishful thinking.

  
Last year, I tried a citrus spray to see if that would get rid of them. Well, not really. But then I got some neem oil and I couldn’t recommend anything more.

I had originally got the neem oil for the apple tree. So, when the time is right, I’ll be spraying that too. Right now, though, I need to decide if the chilli plant is worth keeping or if it is time to put it in the compost bin.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Inside – February 2016

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. Kalamain says:

    Nuking then from orbit works well for aphids. But then so does soap spray. I have tried both and can attest to their abilities. B-)

    I still prefer finding some ladybugs or lacewings… But they are not out yet. *sigh*

  3. My chillies are covered in aphids too – I find it quite therapeutic to brush them off with a (clean) paint brush over the kitchen sink – but then I find the strangest things therapeutic

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Thanks for the tip on neem oil for aphids, I will try that too, at the moment I just have aphids on a flowering house plant. I have not put any seeds down yet for the simple reason that I will be away from home for a month March/April, so I will have to buy plants or start sowing when I return. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Yes, no point in starting what you can’t finish.

      As for neem oil, I would recommend it, going on the success I have had with the chilli plants. It’s too early to say for the apple tree but I have other work to do in that regard as well 😉

      Where are you going in March/April?

  5. gaiainaction says:

    Me neither, that is why I am looking up stuff, I hope to blog about it but not sure yet if I can take my laptop, might have to do with my mobile phone 🙂

  6. Neem oil is a star! I’m going to nail some scale with it this pm 😃

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

