Blame it on the washing

I didn’t get chance to do any gardening before I hung the washing out this morning and what I had planned (involving shovels of compost) could have resulted in the washing coming in rather more quickly!

Thankfully, with it not getting dark till gone 6 at the moment, I got a second chance to cover some cardboard in the aforementioned compost. Grass had started to grow amongst last year’s nasturtium, so I want to nip that in the bud.

It does also mean the nasturtium seeds will be killed off. However, as the nasturtium seemed to keep the cabbage white butterflies off the cabbages, they do need to be elsewhere anyway.

Returning to the here and now, inevitably, whilst out with a spade, I decided to make a start on clearing the ground round the apple tree. I’ve realised it is possibly the surrounding vegetation which is preventing the tree from developing as it could. At least, that could be a reason.

  
So, the rose bush by the back fence has been dug out. It wasn’t keen on flowering too much – perhaps because of the shade, though it could equally be because I bought it in an end of season sale.

I did get a few rosehips from the bush. But overall I think it will be eminently more useful in hugel bed no. 5, which I expect to be building some time in April.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blame it on the washing

  1. I’m glad the days are getting longer, too. Nice that you got a second chance in the garden.

  2. gaiainaction says:

    All happening for you Helen, and looking good. I too have now come to the conclusion that if something is really not growing well, and we have tried everything, then it is better to let it go. Wishing you a good weekend!

  3. thanks for the tip about nasturtiums keeping the cabbage whites away – I’ll try that. They certainly deter whitefly so maybe the butterflies don’t like the smell either.. and you can never have too many nasturtiums

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

