Last day of winter

Ordinarily, today would have been the first day of spring but in view of the nip in the air, I’m not bothered it was still February. It gave me an extra day to get my nephew’s birthday card in the post, apart from anything else. 

Whether or not we are really on the cusp of a new season, today’s frost gave me a renewed opportunity to reflect on the challenges posed by the location of my mini forest garden, which is developing at a very slow pace.

  
I got sidetracked into cleaning windows, so no gardening got done. I did, however, inspect the said ‘forest’ to work out what I need to move and start to plan when. And considering it is the time of year when I empty the freezer in order to defrost it, I also ate lots of homemade ice cream.

Anyway, I’m hoping that Friday will prove a fruitful day for putting the plan into action. It might even rain….. Hard to believe that only two months after the floods, there are cracks in my soil. So, we’re back to being told that it will rain and then nothing happens. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Last day of winter

  1. Garden looks to be coming on nicely/ 😉

  2. Your garden looks great! I am glad to know that I am not the only one who gets hit with spring cleaning fever. I think it is a clear sign that spring is here for me.
    Honey

  3. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  4. You’ve been productive! I caught spring fever as well, though we don’t officially count it here until March 20th. I’ve cleaned, dusted, sorted and organized my desk and crafting area (inside) and prepped my planting boxes for planting and sorted out the compost (outside). It feels great.

    We had a fraction of an inch of rain all month, so like you, the earth is already dry. Ours was pretty thirsty to begin with.

  5. Looking great .. Tidy and organised. You should see my mess of a garden 😄

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

