The case of the moving bricks

For the last couple of months or so, I’ve come home to find one or more of the bricks surrounding the front garden out of place. They are too heavy to have been dislodged by the wind and if I had accidentally kicked them when going to the car, I think I would have felt something, surely.

This evening was the last straw. There wasn’t just one brick out of place and they weren’t on the Tarmac as on previous occasions. Oh no! A number of them were strewn on the soil, including one on top of a daffodil.

  
My immediate reaction was to put the bricks back in place. But once I had gone inside the uncomfortable feeling I was left with prompted me to re-evaluate.

I don’t know who is behind this but whoever it is had upped the ante and I didn’t like the direction the bricks seemed to be going in. So, I’ve brought them round to the back garden. 

They have served their purpose in holding down the cardboard put down for the original sheet mulching and I do need them in the long run out the back. Wouldn’t it better if people didn’t do these things, though!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The case of the moving bricks

  1. Kalamain says:

    Yeah. We have this kind of thing going on all the time here… Bored kids being a problem. B-(

  2. lovely update Helen it is strange that some one would interfere with your garden have a blessed day

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Gosh a little unnerving too that. I think you did the right thing though Helen by bringing them around the back, out of sight might help the culprits to lay off. Hope it will have a happy ending now.

  4. Oh I’m sorry to hear this Helen .. Some people don’t get it. I don’t think it is kids either .. Best of luck

  5. This is one of those situations where it would be nice to have a hidden camera. There are so many possibilities. If it is someone making mischief, they’ll now have to find something else to amuse themselves with, and not your garden.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

