Willow and the Wassail

It’s been a long time since we went to Old Sleningford Farm for a workday. And this was a workday with a difference. For one thing, another participant on the PDC was joining us and after the ‘work’ we were doing a wassail to ward off evil spirits in the orchard.

In addition, I now have a boot full of willow branches. The mainstay of the work had been pollarding willows and as the branches this year are being left for wildlife to make homes in, I was offered some to take home.

  

Now, I do have enough wood already for a fifth hugel bed but I had nonetheless been thinking about ways of procuring wood for future beds. So, this offer was definitely music to my ears.

The wood can’t go in a bed straightaway, however. That would probably lead to willow trees growing where they really aren’t wanted. Instead, the branches are going to be left in a nice sunny position so that the wood is well and truly benign before it goes in the ground.

Even without the gift of hugel bed material, though, this would still have been a brilliant day out. Hope you’ve had a good day, too!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Willow and the Wassail

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Made me smile to think of a willow tree growing from your bed, Helen!

  3. Karen says:

    I thought you might be going to use the willow branches for decoration or for making a homemade plant rooting hormone.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

