Same colour, same shape, totally different taste!

My latest Freegle advert was for the greenhouse poles, which I am unlikely to use soon enough to put up with the clutter. And on Friday I waved them bye bye.

  
  
In their place, there is now a pile of willow branches, which should be going in the ground this autumn. This also happens to be the spot where they will get the most sunshine and, if I remember, I will rotate them so that they all get a share of the UV rays.

It’s a shame I can’t plant one or two of them, as they are such a great tree for obtaining wood for a multitude of purposes. Still, one day I might have land which can have a wider range of applications!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Make do and mend, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Same colour, same shape, totally different taste!

  1. Lovely up thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. drofmit4108 says:

    You are wise not to plant a willow in your garden… they are thirsty beasts!
    But, in that front garden of yours…. have you considered a willow structure…
    or a low “fedge” between you and your neighbour.
    Fedges are very attractive… and, as the willows grow, they “join” together where the woven branches cross…. all you have to do is keep them trimmed back each year… and, hey presto, a continuous source of wood for your hugel beds!!

    • Helen says:

      Sounds beautiful!

      The willow would be too close to the house I think, unfortunately 😦

      • drofmit4108 says:

        No, you would be fine…
        the great joy with fedges is that because the cuttings are so close together, they compete with each other for food, etc..
        and are, therefore, much slower growing..
        and never develope the root structure of an individual tree.
        I was thinking of a fedge only around 18″ high as a “barrier” twixt you and your neighbour.

    • Sheri Fox says:

      Haha love the term. We started a ‘fedge’ today from cuttings off our huge fallen pussy willow. I don’t recommend them for the hugel beds though unless they are dead dead dead. Suckers will root and grow anywhere! Trust me, I’m learning the hard way πŸ˜‰

      • Helen says:

        Thanks for your feedback, Sheri. I was told that if I take the bark off that would kill the willow. Do you think that might work?

      • Helen says:

        Or maybe I could turn it into biochar……

        Anyway, I look forward to seeing pictures of your ‘fedge’.

      • drofmit4108 says:

        Helen, if you strip the bark, you take any possible buds that will grow… and the tissue that makes roots… right off.
        So no chance of regrowth… and that bark will dry and die very quickly, too… and be able to be added to the hugel mix…
        But don’t forget that the bark contains the natural form of asprin…
        very useful… just a little [3″ ish] infused in hot water…
        and sweetened with honey…
        reduces inflamation, etc, etc… as read on any asprin packet.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

