Front garden taking on its new shape

I had a dream last night in which neighbouring children told me chard was not suitable for the front garden. Well, I’m not sure about that and, indeed, I might grow more there this year.

However, since noticing the other day that the anemones were starting to flower in the forest garden 

white anenome with detritus blown in by the gales

I decided it was time to dig them up and move them to the front garden.

There were also a fair number of primroses, which also came out – along with the ubiquitous dandelions and a few silver birch seedlings hidden under leaves (at least this year next door won’t be donating such windfalls to me!).

There were actually more primroses than I would have ideally liked but I can always take some up if I want something I find more pleasing in the future (the primroses were here when I moved in). For now, they are good for ground cover and I don’t imagine there will be any complaints.

  

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Front garden taking on its new shape

  1. Thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. Kalamain says:

    This is the best time of year… So many ideas and plans over the winter and all we now need is a bit of a turn in the weather and we are off!

    \o/

    Looking good!

  3. Go with that chard in the front garden! Don’t worry about the dreams

  4. The coloured stem varieties would look good in any front garden. 😉

  5. Lots happening In your garden. Mine too .. Getting the jaded look. Glad that was a dream..

  6. I’ve been away, so I’m behind. Nice to see things happening in your garden, Helen.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

