PDC day 5

If nothing else, the pumpkin cake I took to the PDC today was a hit. So, I’ve got a second cake in the bread maker for tomorrow. I didn’t have enough pumpkin purée ready, so it’s going to be a pumpkin cum strawberry cake instead.

Even though I’ve been impressed with the number of runners the strawberry plants I got from Old Sleningford Farm have produced, the actual crop of strawberries was meagre to say the least. And I don’t think I can blame it entirely on the birds,  although I have a cunning plan to reduce the incidence of my feathered friends taking a nibble this year.

  

Not that we were talking about strawberries or food growing at all today. Rather, we were looking at ways of building both personal and societal resilience by integrating all age groups in the community and valuing non-monetary based activities, for example.

This is a huge subject about which many have written much better than I could summarise in a blog post. However, for anyone who is interested I would recommend People and Permaculture by Looby Macnamara as a useful starting point. Or The power of just doing stuff by Rob Hopkins.

As Anne Frank wrote: ‘How wonderful it is that no one need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world’.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PDC day 5

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

