Blooms in the forest

Yesterday, I got the first sense of my forest garden turning into a genuine forest. It’s way way off being any such thing but flowers are popping up all over the place, although I don’t know what they all are.

  
Being a dry, calm day, I took the opportunity to sprinkle wood ash from a friend with a wood burner in various places – but in particular round the fruit. The apple tree really needs a second mulch since the first one was applied around Christmas time.

Instead of emptying the finishing off compost bin, though, I decided there was no time like the present to get on with some sowing. There was a patch in the forest garden which was vacant after the removal of the primroses last week, so why not try some spinach. I’ve not had much luck with this before but you just never know.

Anyway, this put me in the frame of mind to also sow runner beans, mangetout and carrots (outside, though in the annual vegetable garden). Some of the soil was quite compacted, perhaps because of the heavy and, at times, unrelenting rain this winter. So, much as I would like to avoid digging there was nothing for it but to get the spade and hoe out.

I also sowed some lavender inside. That could take up to 90 days to germinate…. Hopefully, it won’t be that long – it would certainly be nice if I had some to put in the garden and enjoy this summer, no matter how small!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blooms in the forest

  1. mybrightlife says:

    Spring is in the air!

  2. Awesome update Helen yes i think spring is in the air have a blessed day new vid shortly

  3. Kalamain says:

    From experience (When I was at the council) Lavender from cuttings is much better than seed.

    And that reminds me… Next day off I get I need to start tickling the top soil a bit… Mine is packed from the water like yours is. And at this rate I will need to start cutting the grass any minute now. *sigh*

    • Helen says:

      Good luck with sorting out your soil! Mine isn’t packed with water – in fact, it’s already in need of more rain, on the top at least.

      Pity I don’t have access to any lavender cuttings but I’ll have fun with the seeds 😉

      • Kalamain says:

        My soil is wet still. The fact that I have a stream at the bottom of the garden, and I live on a hill, probably isn’t helping. >.>

        • Helen says:

          You mean water is coming down from the top? Maybe your garden is on a contour…. Mine can’t be!

          • Kalamain says:

            Yes. The road comes down the hill and comes past our little cul-de-sac then carries on down hill, around the corner.

            Our cul-de-sac acts as a trap for water and the drains often get full of silt and clog up so the water just collects and fills up the gardens nearby.

            When it rains our gardens all get full. Although now they sunk new main sewers further down it takes a lot more rain to over flow the area. But we still get soggy soil! B-)

          • Helen says:

            That sounds a bit of a nightmare – someone’s planning went astray 😉

          • Kalamain says:

            The village was built in the early 1900s for the coal mine. I don’t think they cared. B-)

          • Helen says:

            No, probably not!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

