A day of wood

I’d wanted to go the Skelton Grange Conservation Centre, which is just down the road from me, to do their Team Green workday for a long time. However, I had always felt shy about going, even though it is run by someone I work with on LPN committee.

Anyway, today I finally made it, along with the colleague who sits opposite me at work and introduced me to the term ‘permaculture’. And we did a lot of hard work – on my birthday, too!

If only I had as much access to wood as this:

  
But I could only drool. Although I didn’t, as I was too busy emptying a raised bed

  
with several others, I hasten to add. And then saw wooden planks 

  
destined for the bed we emptied earlier, which was moved and found to be in need to a bit of TLC.

  
And I even managed to do some watering when I got home. It doesn’t look like it’s going to rain for another week and the cracks in the soil get bigger by the day. Hard to believe the farmer’s field was flooded last week. Where does all the water go?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A day of wood

  1. andy1076 says:

    We’ve had nothing but rain for the longest time here in Vancouver until today, you’re more than welcome to take some lol 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    You shouldn’t feel shy, you have a lot to offer the group. Sounds like a busy but rewarding day.

  3. Natalia says:

    What a nice way of spending your birthday, Helen! Happy day 🙂

  4. Hope you had a lovely birthday .. Gardening sounds like a great thing to be doing 😃

  5. gaiainaction says:

    Sounds like you had a good time Helen, interesting at least. I do hope all that rain stops coming, it’s scary sometimes to think where it keeps coming from and where it all goes, but I guess it’s all a circular movement in the end. Glad I finally caught up with you again. Warm greetings, Agnes

  6. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

