The bumble bees are out

It was somewhat sad taking a trip to RHS Harlow Carr near Harrogate yesterday. I’ve decided not to renew my membership for the forthcoming twelve months, as we’ve got lots of other things going on and I can’t justify the fee.

However, as we walked round the gardens, I had my regrets about this decision. Much of the display represents a different kind of horticulture from what I could ever aim for, even if I was so inclined. At the same time, there is so much to see and so much which inspires.

On that note, here are a few of the sights which charmed me today.

 

when I was a child, we used to make regular trips to the North York moors, which are covered in heather. perhaps one day I will have heather in my front garden which is as vibrant as this.

 
 

if only we had the space for one of these.

 

 

you’d get a lot of digging done with a spade this size!

 
 

Roundhay Park in Leeds sports a similar feature, so all is not lost.


   
 

we’d never ventured into this part of the gardens before, so there was a pleasant surprise in coming across these formal pieces.


 

now, I wonder what the name of this dark chocolate coloured bush is? wouldn’t it be great in my front garden.


 

this bumblebee was in a sorry state on a path.

   

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The bumble bees are out

  1. andy1076 says:

    There’s something about the pond that’s so peaceful, I imagine it’s very calming to watch in light rain, I too wish I had the space in my yard for all this, beautiful shots! πŸ™‚

  2. Kalamain says:

    The thing I have found is that grounds like this costs. If time and money was no object we could have them too.
    But we do what we can. B-)

  3. It’s really hard when you have to make decisions about what is affordable re days out. We’re currently debating National Trust membership as I know we’d make use of it on holiday this summer. But it’s so expensive….Glad you got one last chance to visit the gardens and there’s always next year…

    • Helen says:

      Of course…. I was thinking of the-joining when the new RHS site opens near Manchester.

      We might get National Trust membership again as Nostell Priory, near us, has a brilliant adventure playground and we haven’t been there for years. At the same time, it does get expensive – and how much can you realistically do?

  4. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  5. gaiainaction says:

    Thanks for taking us on this cool tour Helen, really amazing how ideas can be seen and taken away wherever we go or visit. Much enjoyed πŸ™‚

  6. I’m glad you got in one last visit to that beautiful place. I love the look of heather, especially grown so close together. Doors close, windows open. There will be other things to enjoy.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

