Is there really goodness in this?

Yesterday I had designated as compost bin turning day. It’s not a job I look forward to – too much hard work – but the rewards are what motivates me to get out there and get on with the job.

 

The finished compost needed to be rehomed. So, the apple tree got a second mulch (the first lot seemed to have all but disappeared already) and there was enough left over to top up the year old tomato plant in my dining room. Hopefully, the extra nutrients will give it a boost and the flowers will become lovely fruit.

It seems hard to conceive that this product of mine actually holds nutrients in it. It just seems too incredible to be true. However, if the commercial stuff can act as a growing medium, my own must be at least as good, mustn’t it?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Is there really goodness in this?

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  2. Kalamain says:

    I would expect so. The only way to tell is to wait and see.

    Patience is the one thing I simple cannot get an handle on with gardening! B-)

  3. As good if not better. Home grown sounds good to me.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I’ve read it should be better πŸ™‚

      It just seems like magic!

      • A lot of gardening feels like magic, don’t you think? That’s part of the appeal. Even though I understand the science behind a seed cracking in two, growing and producing, say, a pumpkin, it still seems like magic when it happens.

        • Helen says:

          I know what you mean – especially when a tiny seed can produce something like a tree…. Incidentally, I have that same sense of wonder when I look at my daughter.

          • Aww, what a lovely thing to say. Your daughter is lucky to have you. It’s amazing nurturing a child and watching them grow and become adults. My almost 19 year old son just returned to college today after a week home. I miss him already. My other son is almost 16 and will soon be driving. It went by in a flash.

          • Helen says:

            My mum and I were talking just yesterday about how we miss my daughter as a toddler. At the same time, I enjoyed the conversation we had on Saturday in a cafe, which she most certainly couldn’t have had at the age of two or three.

            Yes, it does go by in a flash!

          • I’ve always been ready for each new stage with my boys, while at the same time looking back fondly at the highlights of each age. It’s a bit of a grieving process in a way; they grow and eventually grow up and away. Where once they needed us for everything, suddenly they’re doing it all on their own.

          • Helen says:

            And the upside of their independence is a sense of liberation for us…. Until they need us again!

          • Indeed. My relationship with my oldest son is wonderful. We’re close in a different way, as it should be. I hope both of my boys will remain a part of our lives in a way that is meaningful to them.

            My younger son is in the midst of the awkward teenage years which include keeping me at arm’s length. We still find ways to connect though, and my hope is that we’ll be close once again as he makes it through this stage of his life.

          • Helen says:

            It must be hard when your children distance themselves from you. Still, what’s the saying? Something like ‘let them free to keep them close’.

            My daughter also distances herself from me already sometimes. Yet, I think it’s important so that I can adjust to her as a budding adult and together we can build a relationship round mutual interests and respect rather than me solely as her carer. Wish me luck πŸ˜‰

          • It is hard, but perfectly normal and necessary for them to individuate. Mother daughter relationships are often the most complicated, so I imagine you’ll have challenging years ahead. It’s good though, for them and for us. Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional. I love that quote and think it applies well to child rearing. All the moms ahead of me tell me that your kids “come back to you” once they go through this stage.

            Good luck!

          • Helen says:

            Thank you. As I’ve not had a son, I’ve no idea how that might compare. I guess you just have to live in the moment…..

            I like the quote: pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

          • It’s a good one, and one I try to live by.

          • Helen says:

            There was supposed to be a smiley as reply πŸ™‚

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

