Forgot about the lettuce

Yesterday, the kids were all out after school and I joined them on my bike for a while. Interesting how you see things differently when you’re a bit higher and not doing the activity with a particular objective in mind.

One such observation was the raised bed in the corner of a garden opposite my own. Of course, I’ve seen the bed – but never before looked to see what was growing in it.

In fact, there were really good heads of lettuce, which I marvelled at, considering my efforts usually bolt. However, having been reminded that I could be growing some lettuce right now, this morning I’ve sown some of my favourite in a shady spot, where I might get something of splendour.

In the meantime, gracing the front windowsill are many mini lettuce leaves, which come in handy for sandwiches. It could definitely be worse!

  
Happy Easter.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Forgot about the lettuce

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Kalamain says:

    Wait, what. W can do lettuce now? I have some iceberg to try… *ponders*

  3. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen, I missed this…
    for a sandwich leaves mix, get yourself a long trough for the windowsill….
    and sow with “Mesclun”, a mixed salad seed mix….
    Thompson&Morgan do one which is quite good…
    but we are now using the mix from Nicky’s Seeds.
    Both types are full of “cut&come again” varieties…
    and a tip to avoid bolting letteye…
    sow three seeds a week of different varieties, indoors…
    prick on what comes up and plant out when ready.
    Recommend “Marvel of Four Seasons”…
    nicely coloured leaves, says what it is in the name, tastes good…
    “Red Oakleaf”…cut&come again…
    and, finally, most “cos” types for something really “crispy-crunchy”.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

