Not potatoes this time

There’s saving stuff for a purpose and there’s hoarding. In 2010, I bought the potato kit featured below and long after the potatoes have been eaten I’ve still got the tub they came in. Even the growbags have been used and rendered no longer usable.

 

I did have a reason to keep the tub: it might have come in useful one day….. And that day has finally come!

I’ve sown pumpkin seeds this morning. The compost came from a pot which until today housed a chilli plant – and to be honest there was something gross about this compost. It was slimey and very heavy, which I’ve never seen in commercial compost before.

I also sowed tomatoes and sweet peppers – not in the pumpkin pot – and decided to use fresh compost instead of anymore from the chilli pot. Something lighter and fluffier might suit them better.

Anyway, I’ve done a tiny bit of decluttering and even engaged my daughter with the gardening process, so I might have a short siesta now. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not potatoes this time

  1. Kalamain says:

    Did you sow your pumpkin seeds outdoor, in situ or indoor?

    I really do need to get a wiggle on this week and get the seeds out.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

