Hatching

Last Sunday at Harlow Carr I had hoped to find lupins (green manure). Unfortunately, they seemed to have powered down their green manure stock.

On the other hand, they had these beautiful ornamental lupin seeds  

 
in stock. I would still like lupins of the green manure variety to add different properties to my soil but ‘Blue Javelin’ will look just fine in my front garden.

And that could be happening sooner than expected. For, when I opened the curtains this morning, the seeds had cracked and shoots were emerging. Amazing how some seeds seem to take forever, while other feel compost and a little water and off they go!

  
 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hatching

  1. It is amazing .. Some germinate within 36 hours while others seem to take forever .. Patience Julie 😄

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Germination, a miracle still every time I witness it 🙂 Wishing you plenty of green manure Helen.

  4. Oh what fun! Spring is under way, Helen.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

