Currants coming back to life

Over the winter, I watched the two currant bushes I had moved from a pot to a hugel bed in the forest garden. One seemed fine, while the other looked as though I might have killed it. They were only a year old and I feared it would have been better to have left them a second year in the pot.

Then, when I did my habitual walk around the garden this evening, observing what might have changed after a day or two away, I was really pleased to see green shots on the less healthy-looking bush.

  
I had already been feeling blessed after discovering a source for woody material for future hugel beds. Namely, my dad’s garden, now he has decided not to pay the council for the honour of taking away household garden waste in his part of the world.

Not that there was anything to bring home today. Instead, I was given fodder for the bokashi bin, which has just had its first anniversary.

The two currant bushes planted on a hugel bed will hopefully benefit from the bokashi mix underneath them, though I will have no way of telling if it that or plain good fortune that gives me a crop in the future.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Currants coming back to life

  1. Kalamain says:

    Yay!

    What kind of current? I only ask because some currents need regular pruning while others only fruit on 2 year old wood.

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. Isn’t it great when something you fear is dead pops into life! Brilliant ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

